Web Browsers

Restore the confirmation while closing multiple tabs in Firefox

Mozilla Firefox has a really nice feature enabled by default. Firefox warns you when you press the close button while you have multiple tabs open. The feature is really useful against accidental presses on the close button. It has saved me on several occasions while I have accidentally lost work in other browsers.

For those who do not need such a feature, Firefox gives a checkbox at the confirmation (Close X tabs?) dialog – “Confirm before closing multiple tabs?”. Although convenient, it is also prone to accidental presses that can lead to users mistakenly disabling the feature. Now, if you find it useful and have accidentally disabled it, then here’s how to get it back.

Open Firefox Settings: Click on the hamburger button ( and then click on Settings.

Open Firefox settings from the hamburger menu

Look for “Confirm before closing multiple tabs” under the Tabs heading in General settings. Tick the box in front of it to enable the prompt when you attempt to close Firefox with multiple tabs open.

Change the setting in Firefox general settings

That’s it! Your useful confirmation is back and will warn you when you try to close Firefox with multiple tabs open.

8 Comments

Click here to post a comment

Email me when somebody replies to my comment.

  • I don’t have that line in my options/tabs heading?! the other four are the same, but that one is missing!!! now what?

      • Hi, I am on Firefox 68.0b13 and it is still working fine. It was working fine during all the 67 releases. So, it should be working fine for you as well. Do note that the option should only appear when you have already disabled the warning while closing multiple tabs.

        • 73, not present, and not working. Potentialy it causes loosing progress on some of websites that not store drafts.

            • It is working on Firefox version 75. You just have to go to the history settings & tell it to remember all history, then firefox will restart. After restarting firefox, go back to settings, at the top under “startup”, it will now give you the option to turn on the warning feature! But if you don’t want your browser to remember all your history, you can then turn it off after turning on the warning feature. Hope this helps! Good luck!

Subscribe for email updates!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,023 other subscribers